IOWA: A Multitude of Milipedes

With lungs full of fresh forest air (peppered with a just a hint of wood smoke), I feel perfectly equipped to pen this blog post…

Despite my best attempts to be an up-and-at-um morning man, most of my summer days have started off in a quasi-lucid morning funk. I have turned to coffee a few times in an attempt to cure these morning dull-drums, but that usually results in excessive jitteriness that peaks in the mid afternoon and slowly slides into a lackadaisical calm come supper time. This morning was a decided deviation from the flow of typical mornings. No morning grogginess, just the rousing calls of birds and tickling crawl of millipedes.

What started as a ramshackle tent set up, a failing fire start, and spook filled night turned into a truly delightful morning. Instead of waking up to the polyphonic rings of Samsung’s “Radetzky March”, I was pulled from the world of dreams by the gentle pitter patter of rain. Instead of our resident apartment cat (Christmas Bow Pottawattamie Jerkins) leaping onto my bed, I awoke to find a friendly little spider making a home in the pajama pants that I had come to call a pillow. Instead of bedding down in a bed for one, I lay next to three of my good friends, each of us tightly cocooned in our respective sleeping bags. Instead of a well-rounded breakfast of oatmeal, milk and cereal, or a couple of hard boiled eggs I washed down superstore trail mix and donuts with a couple gulps of nuclear orange Hawaiian Punch. What a hearty dose of juxtapositions camping entails!

This uncharacteristic camping trip has made me realize I don’t get enough nature in my life these days. Walking to class helps put on the airs of convening with mother nature on a daily basis, but usually my mind is too busy with scholarly thoughts or tangential ideas that I forget to take a look at the flora and fauna around me. I want to venture out into the woods, get overwhelmed by the beauty of nature (subsequently become lost), and spend a number of hard fought days of working my way back to civilization.

This morning reminded me of how amazing it is to wake up outside.

TEASER:
Catch the next blog post to discover the wonderful world of: Ben Mackey, Ice Cream Scooper!

2 responses to “IOWA: A Multitude of Milipedes

  1. Love it Ben! Great story of late summer camping in the woods.

  2. I just love this picture!!!!

Leave a Reply

Blast from the Past

August 2011
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 295 other followers

