INDIA: Cantankerous Camels and the Dusty Desert

While in Rajasthan, I embarked with 8 fellow classmates on a brief camel trek! Riding a camel is a bit uncomfortable for the crotchial region (when it galloped: imagine riding a dinosaur made out of needles and fire. Cool, right? Except for your newfound physical androgyny) and makes you feel equally sorry for the tourist-saddled camel carrying your lumpy butt. BUT. Camping in the sand dunes is totally worth it. I may post another post with more nitty gritty soon, but for now: just photos!

Here’s about where we stopped for lunch on the way up!

Oh, and we got ‘free turbans’ (a sad strip of mesh we were allowed to wrap around our heads). A very bearded Joseph models.

The camels were not allowed to wear turbans.

But it was okay because we slept in this big pile of sand!

8 responses to “INDIA: Cantankerous Camels and the Dusty Desert

  1. Jacqueline Caron

    Wow! That is unbelievable! It just blows my mind. You could write a book with all these adventures. I’ll buy the first copy! Love, MeMe

  2. I LOVE the Camel Face! These are really cool pix. Can’t wait to see more!

  3. GORGEOUS photos! I just saw your freshly pressed post and looked at the rest of the site- congrats & lucky me, I get to look at at the wonderful things you’ve seen in India. I’ve been dying to go to India for quite some time now, so I’ll live vicariously through you for awhile. 🙂 Are you studying over there? What subjects? I look forward to seeing more of your photography.

  4. Your photo’s are AMAZING! I now want to go to India.

  5. thoughtfactory

    Navigated to this one from your Freshly pressed entry 🙂 .. I’ve been living in India all my life, yet I have explored it not to the extent you have. One of the problems in India is the super-overburdened public transport system. Bad roads only add up to the accessibility problem. I’m of the opinion that there are many places in India which can be marketed as tourist destinations to a greater degree provided they’re maintained, funded and made accessible. All in all, interesting set of posts (including Iowa)!

    – Niranjan (with a good-natured head wobble 😉 )

Leave a Reply

Blast from the Past

November 2011
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 295 other followers

